Painting!

We haven’t seen our builders since Monday (we knew we might not). It seems all three built-ins will be ready early next week so I think they are waiting until they have a bunch of things to do. I’ve noticed they really like to be busy.

Yesterday and today I finally got some color on to some walls. Chris and I had decided that it would be best to paint between the barn boards of the old family room wall, so that’s how I started. Then when I rolled on the paint, it turned out it covered pretty well, so that may not have been necessary.

At first I was a bit doubtful about my choice of Whisper Yellow. Even though it’s a fairly mild buttery color, compared to what was there before (kind of a cream/tan/not quite yellow) it looked very yellow. However, once the whole wall was Whisper Yellow it looked very nice. I’m glad, because we bought five gallons of Whisper Yellow all at once to do the family room (2 coats, large room). It was pricey and non-returnable, so it will be Whisper Yellow.

I put the first coat on the old wall yesterday and the second coat today. Also today, I put a first coat on the end wall of the family room where a built-in will go. Only some of the paint will actually show so I didn’t have to paint anywhere near as much as I did, but I was kind of on a roll (literally as well as figuratively) and Chris wasn’t around to stop me. I’m sure for the second coat I’ll only do where the built-in won’t cover.

I left space at the top for my brother (hopefully) to cut in. Everything looks pretty good, although it’s discouraging to think about how much more remains!

Happy Veteran’s Day to any veterans reading this!

2 thoughts on “Painting!

    • Had to look it up. Can you believe I’ve never seen This is Spinal Tap? But I’ll try to take something to 11. Maybe I’ll just have elevenses. And if you don’t know what that is, you’ll have to look it up. 😉

Leave a Reply

